Burn bans across SW Montana

Posted at 3:04 PM, Aug 01, 2019
and last updated 2019-08-01 19:19:13-04

BOZEMAN -  — Burn bans are now in effect for Beaverhead, Madison, Jefferson, and Lewis and Clark counties in SW Montana along with 6 other counties.
Madison County DES reports there have been 17 fires within Madison County burning a total of over 141 acres. 8 of these fires have happened since July 21st.

  • No open burning of any kind
  • No Use of Fireworks


  • Fires within liquid-fueled or gas-fueled stoves, fireplaces within buildings, charcoal grill.
  • Fires within developed residential or commercial areas, and fires within wood burning stoves within buildings only.
  • Fire suppression or fire department training fires.
  • Small recreational fires at a developed picnic or campground sites contained in fixed permanent metal/steel fire pits (rock rings are not considered permanent fixtures) with flame lengths no in excess of three feet.
  • Residential use of charcoal grills, Tiki torches, fires in chimneys or other portable fireplaces or patio fire pits, as long as the fires are supervised by a responsible person at least 18 years old.
  • Professional fireworks displays approved by the District Fire Chief for the location of the event.
  • Persons with a written permit that authorizes the prohibited acts (permits obtained through the Madison County Fire Warden).
  • Federal Lands are not included in this County Burn Ban. Please check with the USFS Office for federal land status or visit

Check with local municipalities for ordinances or resolutions.Big Sky Fire District is exempt from this ban and any restrictions will be at the discretion of the Big Sky Fire Chief.