NFL Pro Bowl Fast Facts

Posted at 6:49 PM, Nov 05, 2018
and last updated 2019-02-07 15:03:25-05

Here is some background information about the NFL Pro Bowl, the all-star game of the National Football League.

January 27, 2019 – The 49th Pro Bowl takes place at Camping World Stadium in Orlando. The AFC team defeats the NFC team, 26-7.

January 28, 2018 – The 48th Pro Bowl takes place at Camping World Stadium in Orlando. The AFC team defeats the NFC team, 24-23.

Other Facts:
Until 2017, the Pro Bowl was played every year but two since 1980 in the Aloha Stadium in Hawaii (2010 and 2015).

In 1971, the National Football Conference (NFC) beat the American Football Conference (AFC) in the first Pro Bowl, played in Los Angeles, 27-6.

In 1984, 1989 and 1994, the AFC scored only three points during each game, the fewest points of any Pro Bowl games.

In 2013, the NFC team scored the most points of any Pro Bowl game with 62.

David Akers (Philadelphia Eagles and San Francisco 49ers) holds the Pro Bowl record for scoring the most points, with 57 (over Pro Bowl career).

Larry Fitzgerald (Arizona Cardinals) holds the record for most touchdowns with eight.

July 31, 2013 – The NFL announces changes in the player selections process. Instead of the AFC playing the NFC, Pro Bowl team members will be drafted by fans, coaches and players in a fantasy-style format regardless of conference.

January 21-22, 2014 – The first NFL Bowl draft is held. Alumni team captains are Jerry Rice and Deion Sanders.

January 26, 2014 – The team led by Jerry Rice defeats the team led by Deion Sanders 22-21 in the first unconferenced NFL Pro Bowl.

June 1, 2016 – The NFL announces that the Pro Bowl is moving from the Aloha Stadium in Honolulu to the Camping World Stadium in Orlando.

December 20, 2016 – The 2017 rosters are announced, with a return to the traditional AFC vs. NFC format.

2019 Roster

Wide receiver: DeAndre Hopkins, Texans; Tyreek Hill, Chiefs; Antonio Brown, Steelers; Keenan Allen, Chargers; JuJu Smith-Schuster, Steelers (replaces Brown); Jarvis Landry, Browns (replaces Hopkins)

Tackle: Taylor Lewan, Titans; Alejandro Villanueva, Steelers; Eric Fisher, Chiefs

Guard: David DeCastro, Steelers; Marshal Yanda, Ravens; Quenton Nelson, Colts, Joel Bitonio, Browns (replaces DeCastro)

Center: Maurkice Pouncey, Steelers; Mike Pouncey, Chargers

Tight end: Travis Kelce, Chiefs; Eric Ebron, Colts; Jared Cook, Raiders (replaces Kelce)

Quarterback: Patrick Mahomes, Chiefs; Philip Rivers, Chargers; Tom Brady, Patriots; Andrew Luck, Colts (replaces Rivers); Deshaun Watson, Texans (replaces Brady)

Running back: James Conner, Steelers; Melvin Gordon, Chargers; Phillip Lindsay, Broncos; Lamar Miller, Texans (replaces Lindsay)

Fullback: Anthony Sherman, Chiefs

Defensive end: J.J. Watt, Texans; Myles Garrett, Browns; Melvin Ingram, Chargers; Calais Campbell, Jaguars (replaces Watt)

Interior lineman: Geno Atkins, Bengals; Jurrell Casey, Titans; Cameron Heyward, Steelers; Kyle Williams, Bills (Replaces Casey); Brandon Williams, Ravens (replaces Atkins)

Outside linebacker: Von Miller, Broncos; Jadeveon Clowney, Texans; Dee Ford, Chiefs; T.J. Watt, Steelers (replaces Clowney)

Inside linebacker: C.J. Mosley, Ravens; Benardrick McKinney, Texans

Cornerback: Xavien Howard, Dolphins; Jalen Ramsey, Jaguars; Stephon Gilmore, Patriots; Denzel Ward, Browns; Chris Harris Jr., Broncos (replaces Harris)

Free safety: Derwin James, Chargers; Eric Weddle, Ravens

Strong safety: Jamal Adams, Jets

Special teams
Kicker: Jason Myers, Jets

Long snapper: Casey Kreiter, Broncos

Punter: Brett Kern, Titans

Return specialist: Andre Roberts, Jets

Special teamer: Adrian Phillips, Chargers

Wide receiver: Julio Jones, Falcons; Michael Thomas, Saints; Adam Thielen, Vikings; Davante Adams, Packers; Mike Evans, Buccaneers (replaces Jones); Amari Cooper, Cowboys (replaces Thomas)

Tackle: Tyron Smith, Cowboys; Terron Armstead, Saints; Trent Williams, Redskins; Lane Johnson, Eagles (replaces Smith); Jake Matthews, Falcons (replaces Williams)

Guard: Zack Martin, Cowboys; Brandon Brooks, Eagles; Trai Turner, Panthers; Andrus Peat, Saints (replaces Brooks); Larry Warford, Saints (replaces Martin)

Center: Alex Mack, Falcons; Max Unger, Saints

Tight end: Zach Ertz, Eagles; George Kittle, 49ers; Austin Hooper, Falcons (replaces Ertz)

Quarterback: Drew Brees, Saints; Jared Goff, Rams; Aaron Rodgers, Packers; Mitchell Trubisky, Bears (replaces Goff); Russell Wilson, Seahawks (replaces Rodgers); Dak Prescott, Cowboys (replaces Brees)

Running back: Todd Gurley, Rams; Saquon Barkley, Giants; Ezekiel Elliott, Cowboys; Alvin Kamara, Saints (replaces Gurley)

Fullback: Kyle Juszczyk, 49ers

Defensive end: Cameron Jordan, Saints; DeMarcus Lawrence, Cowboys; Danielle Hunter, Vikings

Interior lineman: Aaron Donald, Rams; Fletcher Cox, Eagles; Akiem Hicks, Bears; Kawann Short, Panthers (replaces Donald)

Outside linebacker: Khalil Mack, Bears; Ryan Kerrigan, Redskins; Anthony Barr,Vikings, Olivier Vernon, Giants (replaces Mack)

Inside linebacker: Luke Kuechly, Panthers; Bobby Wagner, Seahawks; Leighton Vander Esch, Cowboys (replaces Kuechly)

Cornerback: Kyle Fuller, Bears; Patrick Peterson, Cardinals; Darius Slay, Lions; Byron Jones, Cowboys

Free safety: Eddie Jackson, Bears; Harrison Smith, Vikings

Strong safety: Landon Collins, Giants; Malcolm Jenkins, Eagles (replaces Collins)

Special teams
Kicker: Aldrick Rosas, Giants

Long snapper: Don Muhlbach, Lions

Punter: Michael Dickson, Seahawks

Return specialist: Tarik Cohen, Bears

Special teamer: Cory Littleton, Rams; Michael Thomas, Giants (replaces Littleton)